Kebbi assembly declares speaker, three others’ seat vacant 

The All Progressives Congress-led Kebbi House of Assembly has declared the seats of four lawmakers, including the speaker’s, vacant. The development follows the defection of the four lawmakers to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

The affected lawmakers are Samaila Abdulmumini Kamba ( the speaker), Muhammad Buhari Aliero, Samaila Salihu Bui, and Habibu Labbo Gwandu. 

The clerk of the assembly, Usman Ahmed Bunza, in a release, said that assembly declared the assembly took the decision, based on Section 109 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The embattled lawmakers had issued a press release hours before their seats were declared vacant.

In the release, they accused the state government of intimidating the opposition.

“Government has concluded plans to clampdown on the opposition in the house with the objective to suspend us.

“The plan is to silence the opposition particularly the PDP members in the house, through intimidation and financial inducement to some unscrupulous minds in the house to achieve this purpose,” the sacked lawmakers said in the release.




Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: