Bye-election: APC, PDP win more seats

The ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, has won Saturday’s bye-election in the majority of the constituencies where the court had ordered reruns.

The party won the Surulere federal constituency I, formerly occupied by Femi Gbajabiamila, now chief of staff to President Bola Tinubu.  Fuad Laguda, the winner of the poll, succeeds Gbajabiamila.

The party, similarly, won the Saki West State Constituency (Oyo), and the Akoko North East/North West Federal Constituency (Ondo) seat.

For the Yenagoa Constituency II in Bayelsa State, the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, snatched victory from its competitors for the seat.

In Ebonyi, the rerun into the Ebonyi South seat saw recriminations about vote-buying between the APC and the PDP.

The reruns were marred by violence and ballot-box snatching in other places.

In Adamawa State, the Peoples Democratic Party’s Mahmoud Kallamu, won the House of Assembly by-election in Mayo-Belwa constituency. He defeated the APC candidate, Ibrahim Italiya.

Also, PDP’s Magaji Abubakar defeated Yusuf Marafa Danchadi to clinch the Bodinga constituency seat in Sokoto State.

Due to the irregularities, INEC decided to suspend re-run in some constituencies.

National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Sam Olumekun, disclosed this in a statement.

The affected areas are Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency, Akwa Ibom State where election was suspended in two polling units (Village Hall, EdemUrua 003 in Ini LGA and Village Hall Mbiabong Ikot Udo 003 in Ikono LGA) where all election materials were carted away by hoodlums.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button