Another northern president is like third term – Ndume

Senator Ali Ndume has said that having a president of northern extraction in 2023 is tantamount to a third term of office after President Muhammadu Buhari’s eight years tenure.

Ndume also said it is an act of “injustice” for the north to retain power.

The senator representing Borno senatorial district said this while reacting to the news of Senate President Ahmed Lawan’s presidential aspiration.

“I have nothing against Ahmad Lawan; he is my colleague but I have everything against injustice.

“I won’t even support my biological brother, (because) fielding a northerner is tantamount to injustice and tantamount to a third term.

“The so-called northern elders that are pushing it are doing so to perpetuate injustice,” Ndume said.

Lawan is set to declare his interest for the presidency, according to reports. It was said that some loyalists of his are soliciting support for him to emerge the parliament’s consensus candidate.

Lawan has had a long career as a parliamentarian, since Nigeria’s return to democracy in 1999.

The senator was first elected as a member of the House of Representatives in 1999; a senator in 2007 and he has remained in the Senate since then.

Aside Lawan, others seeking the APC presidential ticket are Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former speaker of House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole (Ogun), Senator Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun), national leader of the APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu (Lagos) and the chairman of Nigerian Governors’ Forum, Dr. Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti).

Others are Dave Umahi (Ebonyi ), Dr Chris Ngige (Anambra), Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba (Imo), Senator Rochas Okorocha (Imo), Ihechukwu Dallas Chima (Abia), Usman Iwu (Imo), Ben Ayade (Cross River), Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers), Gbenga Olawepo-Hashim (Kwara), Mr Tein Jack-Rich (Rivers), Yahaya Bello (Kogi) and Adamu Garba II (Adamawa)

The ruling party has fixed its presidential primaries for May 30 and June 1.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button