APC wins Jigawa, Sokoto, Katsina, Yobe governorship polls

The All Progressives Congress has retained its control of Jigawa, Gombe, Yobe, and Katsina states, and, it equally wrestled power from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Sokoto state. INEC declared APC’s Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe), Mai Mala Buni (Yobe), Aliyu Ahmad Sokoto (Sokoto), and Dikko Umar Radda (Katsina), Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq (Kwara) the winners of the different polls held in their states.

The ruling party, also, is the biggest gainers in the governorship elections held in the South-west states. The electoral umpire announced incumbent Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu as the winner of the governorship election in Lagos, while Dapo Abiodun won that of Ogun state. However, the APC’s candidate for Oyo, Teslim Folarin failed in his bid to dislodge the incumbent, Governor Seyi  Makinde in Oyo state.

Announcing Yahaya as the winner of Gombe guber poll, the returning officer, Prof. Maimuna Waziri, said he polled 342,821 votes to defeat PDP’s Muhammad Jibril Barde, who scored 233,131 votes. Similarly, Prof. Isaac Itodo, who supervised the election in Kwara declared Governor AbdulRazaq re-elected with 273,424 votes, as against PDP’s Abdullahi Shuaib Yaman, who got 155,490 votes.

Yobe’s governorship election returning officer, Prof. Umar Pate, said Governor Buni was re-elected and return after scoring 317,113 votes to trounce the first runner-up – PDP’s Sharif Abdullahi, 124,259 votes.

Dikko Radda of the APC emerged the new governor in Katsina state, according to Prof. Muazu Abubakar who declared 859,892 votes for Radda. PDP’s Yakubu Lado came a distant second with 486,620 votes.

The trend continued with the APC winning Jigawa State.  APC’s Umar Namadi, with  618,449 votes, defeated the son of a former governor, Mustapha Lamido of PDP as he garnered 618,449 votes.

In Sokoto, APC’s Ahmed Aliyu, defeated PDP’s Sa’idu Umar Ubandoma with 453,661 votes to 404,632 votes respectively.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: