APC excludes Buhari’s ministers, others from voting in convention

The Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee of the All Progressives Congress has barred political appointees from voting as delegates at the party’s convention holding on Saturday.

Those who will be affected in President Muhammadu Buhari’s cabinet include Ministers Rotimi Amaechi, Abubakar Malami, Chris Ngige, Festus Keyamo, among others. All of whom are believed to be nursing different political ambitions.

Also to be affected are political aides of governors that have been elected delegates for the convention.

The party said it was taking the decision in view of the controversy surrounding Section 84(12) of the Electoral Act.

The CECPC, in a statement on Thursday, expressly declared that “all political appointees who were elected as delegates to the National Convention slated for 26/3/2022 SHALL NOT VOTE in view of the controversy surrounding Section 84 (12) of the Electoral Act,2022.”

The Cornet had reported Justice Evelyn Ayandike of the Federal High Court, Umuahia, declaring the section invalid and unconstitutional. The judge also directed AGF Malami to delete the said section.

Shortly after the ruling was given, Malami issued a statement saying government would speedily comply with it.

But, the National Assembly expressed dismay over the ruling, with both houses of parliament vowing to appeal the judgement.

Read Also House of reps resolves to appeal ruling on Electoral Act

The Act requires that political appointees shall not be voting delegates at party convention for the purpose of nomination of candidates.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button