PDP governors align with Buhari, CBN on Supreme Court suit

Bayelsa and Edo State, two states controlled by the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), have applied to be joined as respondents to the suit filed by three states against the naira redesign policy of the federal government and the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

At resumption of the matter on Wednesday, the Supreme Court fixed February 22 for ruling on the consolidated suit.

TheCornet had reported that three states, namely Kaduna, Kogi, and Zamfara states, filed a suit against the naira redesign  policy.

Following, the Supreme Court gave a temporary order  restraining the government and the CBN from implementing the February 10 deadline for swapping of old banknotes for new ones.

But, the CBN ignored the order by  insisting that the old N200, N500, and N1, 000 notes had ceased to be legal tenders from the expiration of the deadline.

Hearing in the matter is adjourned till February 22.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button