PDP’s Oborevwori floors Omo-Agege to win Delta governorship

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Sheriff Oborevwori, the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), as the winner of the Delta state governorship election. Oborevwori polled 360234 votes to defeat the All Progressives Congress APC standard-bearer, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, who scored 240,229.

The returning officer, Prof Georgewill Owunari – the vice chancellor of the Rivers State University – said Oborevwori won in 21 of the 25 local government areas of the state in the election.

The incumbent governor, Ifeanyi Okowa, handpicked Oborevwori as his preferred successor, sparking off a series of litigation against the candidacy.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: