PDP defeats APC in Kuje, Bwari council polls

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has defeated the All Progressives Congress, APC, in Kuje, and Bwari council polls, held on February 12 in the Federal Capital Territory.

Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, declared Suleman Sabo of the PDP the winner in the Kuje chairmanship election. Sabo is the council’s incumbent chairman.

He polled 13,301 votes to defeat his closest rival, Sarki Hamidu of the APC, who secured 7,694 votes to emerge first runner-up among the 10 candidates who took part in the poll.

In the Bwari Area Council poll, the INEC declared PDP’s John Gabaya winner.

Gabaya, who will be serving a term, defeated his closest rival, Audi Shekwolo of the APC.

Gabaya scored 13,045 votes, while Shekwolo had 7,697 votes.

The second runner-up is All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, candidate Abubakar Abdullahi, with 603 votes.

Other councils were election held are Abaji, Gwagwalada, Kwali and Abuja Municipal AMAC.

For Gwagwalada, APC candidate Jubrin Abubakar was declared winner. He trashed Mohammed Kassim of the, PDP.

According to INEC, Abubakar polled 11,125 votes, while Kassim trailed with 9,597 votes.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: