Ekiti speaker removed, six other lawmakers suspended

The Ekiti State House of Assembly has removed Hon. Gboyega Aribisogan as its speaker.

In addition to his removal, the assembly also suspended Aribisogan and five other legislators believed to be his supporters.

The affected legislators are Tajudeen Akingbolu, Goke Olajide, Yemisi Ayokunle, Adeyemi Raphael Ajibade, Kemi Balogun, and Tope Ogunleye.

Following the development, the remaining 17 members of the assembly elected Olubunmi Adelugba as the new speaker.

TheCornet gathered that the All Progressives Congress in the state is opposed to Aribisogan’s emergence as speaker.

The party reasoned that a legislator from the southern part of the state should be elected speaker, in order to serve out the tenure of the former speaker, late Rt. Hon. Funmilayo Afuye.

But, Aribisogan, who is from the northern part of Ekiti, disagreed. The development led to his removal and suspension from the assembly.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button