Adamu, Omisore, others emerge consensus candidates at APC convention

Senator Abdullahi Adamu, the preferred choice of President Muhammadu Buhari for the position of APC chairman, has been adopted the consensus candidate at the party’s convention, held at the Eagles Square, Abuja, on Saturday.

Six chairmanship aspirants had stepped down for Adamu shortly before the convention took off. They are Senator Gorge Akume, Senator Tanko Al-Mukura, Senator Abdul’Aziz Yari (Zamfara), Senator Sani Musa (Niger), Saliu Mustapha (Kwara) and Etsu Muhammed (Niger)

Those who made the Unity List of consensus candidates are Senator Iyiola Omisore, (national secretary), Chief Issac Kekemeke (national vice chairman (southwest), among others.

The Cornet reports that the party’s convention started long behind the scheduled time due to intense lobbying and persuasion on aspirants to step down for others being adopted as consensus candidates.

Others are Senator Abubakar Kyari (emerged as the Deputy National Chairman/North), Emma Eneukwu ( Deputy National Chairman/South), Festus Fuanter (Deputy National Secretary), Muhazu Rijau (National Vice Chairman, North-Central), Mustapha Salihu (National Vice Chairman, North-East), Salihu Lukman (National Vice Chairman, North-West), Ijeoma Arodiogwu (National Vice Chairman, South-East), Victor Giadom (National Vice Chairman, South-South).

Also are Ahmed El-Marzuk (National Legal Adviser), Uguru Ofoke (National Treasurer), Bashir Gumel (Financial Secretary), Suleiman Argungu (National Organising Secretary), Beta Edu (National Woman Leader), Abdullahi Israel (National Youth Leader), Tolu Bankole (Special Persons Leader), F.N Nwosu (National Welfare Secretary), Felix Morka (National Publicity Secretary), Abubakar Maikafi (National Auditor), Bashir Gumel (National Financial Secretary), Ibrahim Salawu (Deputy National Legal Adviser) and Omorede Osifo (Deputy National Treasurer).

Prior to the emergence of the new party officers, the APC had been managed by an ad hoc body, known as the Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee. Governor Mai Mala Buni, the governor of Yobe, was made the chairman of the special committee to midwife a convention.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button